Maurice MAHIEU

Profil

Engineer (IRHC) at the Animal Research Unit, INRA Antilles-Guyane Centre, since 2000, he developed an Integrated management of gastrointestinal parasitism of small ruminants in grazed systems in the humid tropics.

Since 2010: Following the implementation of plans to control the level of contamination by chlordecone (CLD) of cattle slaughtered in Guadeloupe and Martinique, I have been asked by the State Authorities to draw up a reference framework for the risk of contamination of terrestrial livestock and their products. A first in-farm study in Martinique showed the possibility of decontaminating cattle within a time frame compatible with the breeding systems, and evaluated for the first time the half-life of the CLD for this species (around 6-7 weeks, with strong individual variability). The development of a strong collaboration with UR-AFPA colleagues has made it possible to advance in understanding the mechanisms of contamination and toxicokinetics of the CLD in different species (ruminants and monogastrics) and led to the INSSICCA ANR project.

At the same time, I support the JAFA (Family Gardens) programme, which has initiated a participatory research process with the population of the polluted zone in Guadeloupe, which aims to adopt farming practices that minimise the exposure of consumers of eggs and poultrymeat.

Skills: Animal management in humid tropics (grazing ruminants)

Our partners

Maurice MAHIEU

Profil

Ingénieur (IRHC) à l'Unité de Recherches Zootechniques du centre INRA centre Antilles-Guyane, il travaille depuis 2000 sur la Gestion intégrée du parasitisme gastro-intestinal des petits ruminants dans les systèmes pâturés de la zone tropicale humide.

Depuis 2010 : Suite à la mise en place par les services publics, de plans de contrôle du niveau de contamination par la chlordécone (CLD) des bovins abattus en Guadeloupe et en Martinique, j'ai été sollicité par ces derniers pour établir un référentiel du risque de contamination des animaux d'élevage terrestres et de leurs produits par la CLD. Une première étude chez un éleveur de Martinique a permis de montrer la possibilité de décontamination des bovins, dans des délais compatibles avec les systèmes d'élevage, et d'évaluer pour la première fois la demi-vie de la CLD pour cette espèce (de l'ordre de 6-7 semaines, avec une forte variabilité individuelle). La mise en place d'une collaboration forte avec les collègues de l'URAFPA a permis d'avancer sur les mécanismes de contamination et sur la toxicocinétique de la CLD chez différentes espèces (ruminants comme monogastriques) et a abouti au projet ANR INSSICCA.

En parallèle, j'apporte un soutien au programme JAFA (Jardins Familiaux) qui a initié une démarche de recherche participative avec la population de la zone polluée en Guadeloupe, qui vise à l'adoption de pratiques d'élevage qui minimisent l'exposition des consommateurs d'œufs et de viande de volaille.

Compétences en zootechnie des ruminants en zone tropicale humide

Nos partenaires